One of My Books Gets a Facelift–and a Whole Lot More

Standard

cover-for-ecoh

What Scouting books have you been reading lately? I’ve been reading The Scoutmaster’s Other Handbook. It’s not that I’m overly enamored of my own book–although I am pretty proud of it. Instead, I’ve been preparing a new edition, which features a new cover and runs an extra 16 pages. The new edition also includes extensive updates that reflect changes in BSA policies, advancement requirements, and other recent developments–hence the need to my recent complete read-through. (As an aside, it’s amazing how much has changed in just a few short years. Since my Scouting involvement has never been interrupted, I can only imagine the disorientation experienced by former Scouts who return to the program as adult leaders when their sons get old enough.)

The extra 16 pages represent roughly double that amount of new content, much of it based on posts from this blog. In addition to deleting some sections that were no longer relevant, I’ve moved all the web resource lists to EagleBook.com, where they’ll be easier to update. By the way, I’m always interested in expanding this list, so feel free to send me a link to your favorite Scouting website.

The new edition will be available in print sometime after the first of the year, but you can read it today if you’re technologically inclined. As I’ve done with The Eagle Court of Honor Book, I’m releasing the updated version in a Kindle edition early; it went live on Amazon on December 5. Just click the link for more information.

Thanks for reading my blog and books. All the best to you and your family in this holiday season.

2 thoughts on “One of My Books Gets a Facelift–and a Whole Lot More

  1. Laszlo Acs, Former SM of Troop 3, Springfield, IL

    aw… I already have the original edition (signed by you, THANKS!) and wanted to buy this book as a Christmas present for the guy who graciously agreed to take my place as Scoutmaster a few weeks ago. But, with your update in process, I’ll have to delay this – I do want him to have the most updated info possible.

Leave a Reply

