The Scout Oath in Four-part Harmony

Standard

bp_scouts_in_song

This week, the Scouting magazine blog featured a video of three Scouts singing the National Anthem at an Eagle court of honor. It was a great reminder of the power of music—and of the hidden (or not-so-hidden) talent in every troop.

It also remind me of “On My Honor,” a musical setting of the Scout Oath. Here are the lyrics:

On my honor, I’ll do my best to do my duty to God.
On my honor, I’ll do my best to serve my country as I may.
On my honor, I’ll do my best to do my good turn each day,
To keep my body strengthened and keep my mind awakened.
To follow paths of righteousness.
On my honor, I’ll do my best.

Several years ago, I coordinated an Eagle court of honor for six members of my troop, and we ended the ceremony with the honorees singing this song in four-part harmony. It was a beautiful ending to a great event.

You can find the “On My Honor” sheet music on my website at http://eaglebook.com/pdf/onmyhonor.pdf. To hear a recording by Burl Ives of a different arrangement, visit http://scoutsongs.com/lyrics/onmyhonor.html.

Leave a Reply

